Tuesday, October 27, 2020

Inactivating Providers in Dentrix G7.4

Staff turnover is inevitable, and when it happens, you’ll want to make sure that those changes are updated in Dentrix. Because there will be past procedures and transactions attached to providers who leave the practice, you can’t simply delete a provider. But you’ll want to make sure that only your current providers are shown as available options to select when scheduling appointments, posting transactions, or generating payroll reports going forward.

To help with this, you have the ability to inactivate a provider. In Dentrix G7.4, this process is more streamlined.

In the Office Manager, select Maintenance > Practice Setup > Practice Resource Setup. Select the provider or staff member you want to inactivate and click the Inactivate button.

You will first be prompted to select a replacement provider. The replacement provider will be assigned to all uncompleted treatment plans, future appointments, future due payment plans, or Family File patient assignment that are currently assigned to the provider you want to inactivate.


If there are current transactions in the Ledger attached to the provider you want to inactivate, you will be prompted to select how you want to allocate the balance—keep them with the provider being inactivated, or transfer them to the replacement provider using offsetting adjustments.


If you select to transfer the balance using offsetting adjustments, you will then be prompted to select the credit adjustment type and charge adjustment type to be used.


Next, you’ll be shown a list of changes that will take place once when you inactivate the provider. Click Inactivate to start the process, and when complete, a summary of the changes in Dentrix will be displayed.


To see how the inactivating a provider process works, watch this video.

Tuesday, October 20, 2020

Understanding the Options When Assigning Insurance to Patients

When you assign insurance to a patient in Dentrix, be sure that you understand the different options and features you can access from the Insurance Information dialog box.

With a patient selected in the Family File, double-click the Primary Dental Insurance block to open the patient's Insurance Information.

If this patient is the subscriber of their own plan, click the Subscriber search button and select the Current Patient button. If the patient is a dependent to another family member's insurance plan, click the Subscriber search button and select the family member and plan. This will load the insurance plan details as they were entered under the subscriber family member.

Use the Carrier search button to find the insurance carrier to assign to the patient, and click OK. Then enter a Subscriber ID # for the patient. You’ll need this to properly submit claims and avoid denials or rejections.

Under Signature on File, select the following options as needed:


  • Release of Information – When selected, “Signature on File” prints on insurance claims for the subscriber to authorize release of information. 
  • Assignment of Benefits – When selected, this authorizes insurance payments to be sent directly to the provider rather than to the patient.

Verify the Relation to Subscriber setting, based on the relationship between this patient and the insurance subscriber. 

The Insurance Data button will open the Primary Dental Insurance Plan Information window where you can view or edit information pertaining to the plan. However, be aware that making any changes here will change the insurance plan information, affecting all other patients who are assigned to this plan.

In Dentrix G7.4, a new Benefits/Coverage button has been added, which opens a new Dental Insurance Benefits and Coverage window with several new features and options you can read about in an article in Dentrix Magazine titled, An Easier Way to Manage Patient Insurance Details.

When you are ready to assign the insurance to the patient, click OK at the bottom of the window.

Bonus Tip

To have one less thing to worry about when assigning an insurance plan to a patient, you can manage how you want the Signature on File options to be set by default for new subscribers.

In the Office Manager, go to Maintenance > Practice Setup > Preferences.  Under the General Options tab, in the bottom right corner of the window, you can set the Default Signature on File for New Subscribers for both Dental Insurance and Medical Insurance.


Click OK to save your changes, and the next time you assign insurance to a new patient, those default options will already be selected for you.

Tuesday, October 13, 2020

Making Visual Notations in the Patient Chart

One of the overlooked features in the Dentrix Patient Chart is the ability to make chart notations. The Chart Notations feature allows you to "draw" on a patient’s chart! For practices with computers visible to patients in the operatory, you can use chart notations to explain problem areas by drawing on or highlighting certain teeth or surfaces, which can help patients visualize what the dentist or hygienist is telling them.

To make notations:

  1. With a patient selected in the Chart, from the Options menu select Chart Notations and then Edit Notations. A small Dentrix Notations toolbar will appear on the screen.


  2. From the Dentrix Notations toolbar, select a notation tool to use:
    • Pen - The pen tool enables you to draw or write on the Chart using a variety of widths and colors. Click the down arrow next to the pen icon to select the desired color and width. Select Pen Settings to customize the colors and widths listed as needed. You can use this tool if you want to pinpoint specific teeth a patient should focus on, or to illustrate an area of a particular tooth or root.


    • Highlighter - The highlighter tool is transparent, allowing you to view the tooth chart through the notation. Click the down arrow next to the highlighter icon to select the desired color and width. Select Highlighter Settings to customize the colors and widths listed. 


    • Eraser – The eraser tool enables you to remove all notations or only selected ones. Click the down arrow next to the eraser icon to select the size of eraser you want to use. Then click and drag the white eraser cursor over the notation(s) you want to remove, or you can click Clear All to erase all notations.


    • Selection Tool – The selection tool enables you to move, enlarge, or minimize specific notations. First, make a notation using either the Pen or Highlighter tool. Then click the Selection tool and drag it around the desired notation, surrounding it with a dotted line.


      You can then click and drag the entire notation to a different area, enlarge the notation by dragging the corners out, or minimize the notation by dragging the corners in. You can delete by right-clicking on the selection and choosing Delete Selection.
When you are finished making notations, you can either use the Eraser tool’s Clear All option to remove all the notations at once; or, if you want to keep the notions and simply return to the normal view in the Chart, you can select Options > Chart Notations and then toggle the View Notations on or off, depending on when you want to view them again.

What types of things do you (or will you) use Chart Notations for? Let us know in the comments.

For additional information, see the topics listed under Chart Notations Overview in Dentrix Help.

Tuesday, October 6, 2020

Adding Words to the Dentrix Spell Check Feature

 When you create clinical, health history, and other notes in Dentrix, do you encounter words and abbreviations that your office uses, but which the Dentrix Spell Check feature doesn't recognize? These words may be spelled correctly, but because they aren’t recognized, Dentrix shows them in red. You can easily add words to the Spell Check dictionary, so you won't have to constantly correct them — and so they won't appear red anymore!

To add words to the Spell Check dictionary, in any note field, click the Check Spelling button. Dentrix checks the spelling of each word in the note field. As it does so, it will stop and highlight each word that it doesn't recognize.


With the “misspelled” word in the Not in Dictionary field, click Add to add it to the dictionary. Going forward, it will be recognized as a correctly spelled word in all notes, for all patients, and on all computers in your office's network.

For additional information, read our past Tip Tuesday blog post titled, How Do You Spell “Anesthesia?