Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Invalidating Completed Procedures from the Chart

Completed procedures are moved into history when the month is closed in Dentrix. This protects them from being changed, because when a completed procedure has been moved into history, it cannot be edited or deleted. This does not mean, however, that an error in history cannot be corrected.  To provide a correction, the incorrect procedure must be invalidated and then replaced with a corrected version. Note that when a procedure is invalidated, the paint colors in the Patient Chart associated with the invalidated procedure are removed and the related progress notes entry for the procedure are also removed so the patient's record is accurate.

Please note: This tip focuses on how to invalidate a procedure, and re-post a corrected, backdated procedure so the clinical record is accurate. There will be a tip next week on how to invalidate a procedure from the Ledger, which will include steps on how to post payment adjustments (as needed) as well as re-posting a corrected, backdated procedure, so your financial records are accurate.

To invalidate a procedure from the Chart:


  1. In the Patient Chart, select a patient and double-click the completed procedure to be invalidated.
  2. Make note of the specific information about the procedure (such as date, tooth, surfaces, etc.) if you will be re-posting a corrected procedure.
  3. In the Validate/Invalidate Procedure group box, mark Invalidate Procedure.


  4. Click OK to return to the Patient Chart.
  5. If needed, re-post the corrected procedure in the Patient Chart, making sure to edit the procedure date to reflect the date the procedure was originally completed so your clinical records are accurate.

No comments: