Tuesday, April 12, 2016

2 Tiny Preference Choices That Can Make a Big Difference

Many of you have upgraded to Dentrix G6, and that's great! We've posted tips in the recent past about new features available with this release. And while it's nice to tout the "latest and greatest" when it comes to software features, sometimes it's the little things that can get people excited, too.

There are two new options available in the Preferences dialog box that are just that: little things to get excited about.

First, in Dentrix G6.1 a new feature was added which automatically opens the Select Patient dialog box when a patient-specific module is opened for first time and no active patient is currently selected. This feature saves time because you don't have to click File > Select Patient every time a new module is opened. This feature assumes that when you open a patient-specific module, your next step will be to select a patient.

In Dentrix G6.1 this option is turned on by default, but you can easily customize it for each workstation to accomodate your personal preferences.

To enable or disable the feature:
  1. In the Office Manager, select Maintenance > Practice Setup > Preferences. The Preferences dialog box appears.


  2. In General Options tab, under the Additional Options group box, check or uncheck the box for Automatically Launch Select Patient.
    • If checked, the feature is active.
    • If unchecked, the feature is inactive.
  3. Click OK to save your changes and exit.
A second new feature, added in Dentrix G6.1, allows you to automatically see patient notes in the Family File. In previous Dentrix versions, patient notes were hidden by default, and you would have to open them for individuals on a patient-by-patient basis. With this new feature, you can turn them on (or off) for all patients as the default, depending on your office preferences. 

This option by default is turned on, meaning patient notes will automatically be visible, but you can easily customize it for each workstation in your practice, depending on your patient information protocol.

To enable or disable the feature:
  1. In the Office Manager, select Maintenance > Practice Setup > Preferences. The Preferences dialog box appears.


  2. In the General Options tab, under the Additional Options group box, check or uncheck the box for Auto View Patient Note in Family File.
    • If checked, the feature is active. Note that if you hide the patient notes in an individual record, the notes will be visible again the next time you open the Family File for that patient.
    • If unchecked, the feature is inactive and you must click the View button in the Family File to see the patient's notes.
  3. Click OK to save your changes and exit.
Take some time to review how the workstations in your office are set up, and whether you need to adjust these default settings to better fit your specific needs.

No comments: